Talisman of gratitude

talisman of leavesAccording to Mayan shaman Martín Prechtel, all inspiration comes from the Other World. When we create something, we are supposed to give back to our ancestors in the Other World, using the form of “eloquent sound,” or by offering something we’ve made with our hands. The spiritual poverty of modern civilization is related to our failure to acknowledge our debt.

Remembering this principle, and grateful that work on my ancestor book, stuck for several weeks, has began to flow again, I decided to make something with my hands. The urge was an impulse of the moment as I stood on a rock behind my house, reciting a morning prayer. Looking around, I thought I might make a very simple talisman.

I used to think of talismans as articles of superstition. A talisman is defined as an object believed to contain magical properties, providing good luck for the possessor or offering protection from harm. But I now see a talisman not as a physical object but as a symbol of consciousness with a practical purpose. A talisman is chosen or created from items that represent some emotion or quality–gratitude, healing, creativity—and expresses this quality in tangible form.

At my feet on the mountainside were last fall’s dried-up leaves. I picked up a pine twig and poked holes in a rust-speckled beech leaf, a gracefully curled maple leaf, a stiff shiny oak leaf, and I threaded them on the twig. The leaves, still beautiful, could represent death and the persistence of consciousness after death. The twig is the connection among people and generations. The act of creation was effortless, without fear of making mistakes or being judged by an audience.

I placed the talisman on my ancestor shrine and thanked my forebears for their inspiration. Whether they can hear me or not doesn’t matter. I enjoyed the pleasure of creation, which enhanced my sense of gratitude, opening my heart, and I had an interaction with nature, all too rare in my computer-dominated routine.

In a few days, I will remove the talisman from the shrine and scatter the leaves and twig back to the earth. I will do it consciously, giving myself another opportunity to thank the ancestors and appreciate the natural world.

If you make a talisman, use your own impulses to select appropriate objects. If you plan to scatter it later, make sure to use only items from nature that will break down when returned to the earth. And let me know how it goes–

This entry was posted in death, genealogy, mental health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Talisman of gratitude

  1. Barbara Bash says:

    Thank you Violet for this talisman story – it reminds me to touch the world and make something new through that contact – bb

Leave a Reply

